top of page

Goal Setting



Why Should I Set Goals?

Setting goals give us the motivation to look forward and also, encourages motivation. Goals give us purpose. Our goals show us what we value most and guilds our actions.

How can I set goals?

You need to have a plan. You are 42% more likely to reach your goals if you write them down. It is helpful to have small goals that lead to your big end goal. This helps to eliminate procrastination and stress. You may have different goals for different parts of your life, or you may not have any goals at all. Wherever you are starting, goal exploration can help you set short-term and long-term goals in all areas.

Tips:

  • If the task seems daunting, it may need to be broken down even further.

  • Minimize distractions: turn off your phone and find a quiet space.


Exercise 1 – “Imagine Your Life in Pictures”

What does your desired future look like? Create a bulletin board (virtual or physical), filled it with photos that represent what you want your future to look like. Keep it somewhere you can look at it every day to keep you motivated towards your goals!




Exercise 2 – Goal Breakdown

What is your BIG goal? What are your small goals? (time required to complete, date)


Exercise 3 – Goal Planning

What are my goals for the …? Next month… Next year… 5 years … What obstacles will I face? How can I overcome them?


Exercise 4 – Goal Exploration

What are my Social Goals? What are my Health Goals? What are my Gamily Goals? What are my Self-care Goals? What are my Career Goals?



Elementary – How to set goals? Rocket kids


Instructions: Make a Goal Ladder

Step 1: Choose your big goal. My big Goal is ________ Step 2: What’s the purpose? My purpose is _________ Step 3: Break it down. What steps do you need to take? My steps are _______ Step 4: Avoid Obstacles. These are some obstacles I could face _____ How can we fix them?


HIGHSCHOOL - SMART GOALS

bottom of page