top of page
Happy Street Vendor

WITH PURPOSE

& INTENTION

BLOG

Celebrating Us…

Happy International Women’s Day

Today, March 8, 2022, is International Women’s Day. I have a lot to be thankful and humble for on this day. We can attribute many female role models and thank them for our success. Some famous and others in our closets circles have directly impacted our lives and careers.


I suppose you follow my “W/ Purpose & Intention” blog. In that case, you have a peek into some of the women who have significantly played a role in molding me into who I am. But most importantly, those women have always encouraged me to break barriers.



“If they don’t give you a seat at the table, bring in a folding chair.” ~ Shirley Chisholm...nursery school teacher; author; the first Black Congresswoman; and in 1972 the first Black major-party candidate to run for President of the United States.

At just 95 years young, my family and I are so appreciative for who she is and all she’s accomplished. But not to fall short of recognition, my Aunt Iantha falls into the category of women of excellence who makes me push myself to the limits. See, Aunt Iantha is the epitome of how a woman achieves yet still keeps her family and faith first.


As little girls, my cousin Kimberly and I were always fascinated about how she was able to work full-time, yet, she still had time to keep her household together, primary caretaker of her elderly mother, actively involved in church activities (which is at least a 30-minute drive) and again…work fulltime. But every day, dinner was promptly ready Sunday through Saturday – every day.

I enjoyed watching her in the kitchen. Pots clanging and clashing together – a level of multitasking I can only hope to achieve in my lifetime.

Auntie & Me

A few years ago, she came for a visit, and that was one of the fondest times spent with her. We talked, laughed, visited the grocery store, and cooked together – a memory I’ll always cherish. She shared with me how to pick out eggs. Let me tell you that IS a method and more than just opening the cart to make sure none of them are cracked! She insisted on teaching me how to make her famous ‘egg custard,’ which is also a method. Through all of this, it still amazes me how she has accomplished so much and touched so many through her lifetime. I’m forever grateful for her love, support, and that good kick in the behind when I needed it.


I also have a fantastic group of female family, friends, and colleagues that never cease to amaze me. They are my personal heroes, whether they know it or not. Keep doing you boo and break all the ceilings – WE GOT THIS!


Please like and share.




122 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page